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MILITARY STATUS ELIGIBILITY

Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedited application:

[] 1 amin active military duty or a reservist
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|:| | am the spouse of someone in active military duty or the spouse of a reservist

(Documentation Required)
see next page for instructions
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GENERAL INFORMATION

Enclosures

The following materials and information should be enclosed within this application packet:

APPIICALION PTrOCESS OVEIVIEW. .......etiiiieeiiteee ettt e e e e e e et e e e e e e e e e e s e e e nnees 3
Instructions for Completing APPIICALION. ..........uiiii i 4
Application Materials
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P Y o] o] o= 11T g @1 g T=Tox 141 SO PP 9
Interstate Verification Form - Other State LICENSE(S). .. .ccivurrrieriiiiiieeeiiiiee e 10
Supervisor Statement for Temporary Permit HOlder ... 11

All Applicants

« One recent identification photograph of the applicant, head and shoulders, front view, signed by the
applicant approximately 2x2 inches affixed to the application (page 8).

e Birth certificate (original or a copy notarized as being a true copy of the original, or notarized
copy of other Government Identification), or if born outside the United States, proof of citizenship
or lawful alien status, (original or a copy notarized as being a true copy of the original).

» Acompleted official record of high school diploma or GED.

License Requirements

» Requirements listed above under “All Applicants”.
» Fee of $25.00 for Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter License.

e Successful completion of the National International Hearing Society (IHS) written exam
administered by the Department/Board , OR (if applicable) scores sent directly from the IHS to the
Board.

» License Verifications from the state(s) in which applicant holds or has held a license.

» Successful completion of practical examination administered by the Board.

Temporary Permit Requirements

e Requirements listed above under “All Applicants”.
* Fee of $25.00 for Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter Permit.

* Completed “Supervisor Statement for Temporary Permit Holder” (pagell).

Military Expedited

If applying for expedited military status you must include one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES),
Letter from Command, Copy of Orders or DD-214 showing honorable discharge.

Rules and Requlations/Laws

To obtain the Rules and Regulations for your profession visit the following web site. From the list click on your
profession.

http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses/
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http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/hear-deal.php

APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Health Professionals Regulation, and the Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters
(Board).

Application Process

In addition to the application, you must submit additional information directly to the Board. All items listed on the
“checklist” (page 9) must be submitted for an application to be considered complete. All applications are consid-
ered valid for 1 year from the day they are received at HEALTH. If you do not complete the application process and
obtain a license within 1 year a new application must be submitted.

Please allow a minimum of 4-8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed. If you have malpractice
criminal or disciplinary history, in Rhode Island or another state, it can take an additional 2 or 3 months for all
pertinent documentation to be received, and a decision to be made regarding issuance of your license.

Licenses will be issued within 7-10 working days following approval of the license. Wallet-sized license cards are
mailed within 3 weeks from the date of issuance, and are mailed to the address furnished in the application. You
are responsible for notifying the Board office, in writing, if your address changes in the interim. Visit the following
website to obtain a change of address form.

http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/changeofaddress/professions.pdf

To obtain your license number prior to receiving your license card, please refer to the HEALTH Licensee
Lookup web site:
https://healthri.mylicense.com/Verification/

HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the expense of others. Once
completed, the application will be reviewed, and you will be contacted in writing.

Please continue to review the remaining portions of this application packet for instructions and other materials
necessary to complete the application. If you have any questions about this application process, or would like to
check on the status of your application, please contact the board staff at (401) 222-2828.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE LICENSE/PERMIT APPLICATION

Read the following instructions and those throughout the application packet carefully before completing the application. Only
complete applications with the appropriate fee will be accepted. Failure to submit all required information and appropri-
ate documentation may result in processing delays.

General Instructions
1. Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.

2. Type your information or print in blue or black ball-point pen. HEALTH staff will not make assumptions about illegible
information.

3. Provide aresponse to each section or question; otherwise mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.
We suggest that you make a copy of your completed application before submitting it to HEALTH.

5. ltis your responsibility to check on the status of your application.

Completing your Application

1. Complete the application (pages 5-8). You must respond to all components of the application as instructed. If you
attach separate pages in continuation of the application, such pages MUST clearly indicate the section for which such
information is being reported.

2. Make check or money order (in U.S. funds only) for the application fee of $25.00 for License ($25.00 for Temporary
Permit) payable to Rhode Island General Treasurer and staple it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page
of the application. This application fee is NON-REFUNDABLE .

3. Forthosebornin US: An original or notarized copy of birth certificate, or notarized copy of other Goverment
Identification. For those born outside US: An original or notarized copy of citizenship or lawful alien status.

4. Affixarecent 2 X 2 photo of yourself in the space provided (page 8).

5. Acompleted official record of High School diploma or GED sent directly to the Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters.
No student copies will be accepted.

6. For Temporary Permit Applicants, a completed “Supervisor Statement for Temporary Permit Holder” (page 11) must be
sent directly to the board.

7. For license applicants who are currently nationally certified by the IHS, scores/certification must be sent directly from
the “International Hearing Society” (IHS) to the Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters.

8. (Endorsement Candidates): Please send the license verification form on page 10 to all states in which applicant
holds or has held a license. Be sure to sign and complete the identifying information on the form. HEALTH must
receive these verifications directly from the licensing authority in each state.

9. Mail the application and documentation to:

Rhode Island Department of Health
Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters, Room 104
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
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State of Rhode Island

Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters

Application for License/Temporary Permit as a Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens.

1. Name(s)

This is the name that
will be printed on your
License/Permit/
Certificate and
reported to those who
inquire about your
License/ Permit/
Certificate. Do not use
nicknames, etc.

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.)

First Name

Middle Name

Surname, (Last Name)

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., I, 111

Maiden, if applicable

Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last).

2. Social Security
Number

U.S. Social Security Number

“Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General Laws,
as amended, | attest that | have filed all applicable tax returns and
paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and | understand
that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the
Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State.”

3. Gender

|:| Male

|:| Female

4, Date of Birth

Month Day

5. Home
Address
It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, fNOTU.S.

State Zip Code

Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Home Phone Home Fax
Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.qg. applicant@isp.com)
6.Business

Address Name of Business/Work Location

(ONLY if it is

RELATED to 1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

your license.)
Second Line Address (Number and Street)

It is your responsibility

to notify the board of all

address changes. City State Zip Code

This address will
appear on the
Department of
Health web site.

Country, f NOTU.S.

Business Phone

Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Extension Business Fax
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7. Preferred
Mailing
Address
Please check ONE

|:| Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address

I:' Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address

8. Qualifying
Education

i Type of School (University, College, Technical School, High School, etc.)
Please list the name
and information about

the school that you

attended that Name of School
qualifies you for this
license. Date Graduated:

Month Year

Degree Received (Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science, Diploma, etc. )

Major

9. Other State Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? Yes No
License(s)

Please answer the

question and list If the answer to this question is “yes”, enter all other state licenses in Question 10 (below):
state(s), if applicable

10. Licensure State/Country: State/Country:

List all states or DActive D Inactive DActive D Inactive

countries in which
you are now, or . ) )
ever have been DActive I:I Inactive [JActive  [Jinactive
licensed to practice

your profession. Cactive  [Jinactive [JActive  [Jinactive
Clactive  [Tinactive [[Jpctive  []nactive
Clactive  [Jinactive Cacive  [inactive
Clactive  [Jinactive Cactive  [Jinactive

DActive Dlnactive I:lActive I:lmactive
DActive Dlnactive I:IActive I:llnactive

DActive Dlnactive DActive I:llnactive

Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters - Page 6



11. Criminal

Convictions

Respond to the
question at the top
of the section, then
list any criminal
conviction(s) in the
space provided.

If necessary, you
may continue on a
separate 8%z x 11

sheet of paper.

Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered
a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or |:| Yes |:| No
are any formal charges pending?

Abbreviation of State and Conviction' (e.g. CA - lllegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):
Month Year

12.

Disciplinary
Questions

Check either Yes or
No for each
question.

e

1. Has any Health Professional license, certificate, registration, or permit you
hold or have held, been disciplined or are formal charges pending?

2. Have you ever been denied a license, certificate, registration or permitin any
state?

Yes No

Note: If you answer “Yes” to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason
and disposition of the matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, on a separate sheet of paper.
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13. Affidavit of

Applicant
) ) I, , being first duly sworn, depose and say that | am the
Complete this section . . . . .
and sign in the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.
presence of a notary
public. | have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without

Make sure that you reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by
and the notary public me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that

have completed all such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license/permit to practice as a
components Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter in the State of Rhode Island.

accurately and

completely.

| understand that this is a continuing application and that | have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode
Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters of any change in the answers to these questions after this
application and this affidavit is signed.

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this day of

, 20 , by ,

who is personally known to me or has produced

as documentation and did / did not take an oath.

Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary

Notary Seal

Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date (MM/DD/YY)

14. Recent
Photograph

Securely tape or
glue in this square a
current 2" x 2"
photograph of
yourself (alone).

Photographs must be Affix Photo Here

recent, passport type
photo, clear, front
view, full face
without a hat or dark
glasses.

Full length photos will
not be accepted.

% Write your name on the back of the photograph, and provide the date that the photograph was taken.

Date of Photograph
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Please review the following checklist to ensure that all the components of the application process have been satisfied. Some
items may not apply.

Board Application

| have read and understand the “Instructions for Completing the Application”.

| have completed the Rhode Island Board application as instructed (pages 5-8).

I:I | have attached the cover page of the application.

I have completed Section 13, “ Affidavit of Applicant”, and had the form notarized by a notary public.

| have attached a photograph to Section 14, “Recent Photograph” as instructed. | have verified that it meets the
photograph requirements as stated in the application.

| have attached a birth certificate (original or a copy notarized as being atrue copy of the original, or notarized
copy of other Government Identification), or if born outside the United States, proof of citizenship or lawful alien
status, (original or a copy notarized as being atrue copy of the original), and understand that submitted documents
will not be returned.

I have made a check or money order (preferred), payable (in U.S. funds only) to the “Rhode Island General
Treasurer” in the amount of $25.00 ($25 for Temporary Permit) and attached it to the upper left-hand corner of the
first (Top) page of the application.

I:I | have arranged my Board Application materials in the following order.
1. Fee (attached as instructed).
2. Board Application (including cover page) and pages 5-8.

3. Supporting documentation as required. [Note: Pages containing additional information in continuation of the
Board application] MUST indicate the section for which the information is being reported.]

I have mailed the above application materials directly to the Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters.

Required Forms

I:I I have completed and mailed the following forms as instructed.

1. Interstate Verification Form(s) - Other State License(s) (License Applicants ONLY).

Other Documents

I have requested a school transcript (High School or GED) as instructed.

| have requested that my supervisor complete and mail the “Supervisor Statement for Temporary Permit Holder”
(page 11) directly to the board.

| have requested my IHS scores/certification be sent directly to the Board as instructed. (Please note: this
requirement is ONLY for those applicants who are nationally certified by the International Hearing
Society).
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Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed.

Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters
Room 104, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
(401) 222-2828

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S)

I am applying for a license to practice as a Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters
requires that the following form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which | hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all
information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name Signature Date

19
Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth
License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE HEARING AID DEALER BOARD

Licensed by Examination? Applicant has completed and passed the National Certification Exam:
[ Yes [J No [] Yes [] No
License Status: Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:

[ Active [ Inactive [] Lapsed

Questions:

1. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board? [J Yes [1J No
2. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? [0 Yes [J No
3. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed [0 Yes [J No

on probation?

4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? [ Yes [ No

If you answer “Yes” to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g.,
Board order, complaint, etc.).

Certification:

Signature Date

Type or Print Name Please Affix
Board Seal Here

Title

Full Name of Licensing Board

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed.

Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters
Room 104, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
(401) 222-2828

SUPERVISOR STATEMENT FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT HOLDER

I am applying for a Temporary Permit to practice as a Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid
Dealers & Fitters requires that the following form be completed by my supervisor. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your files,
favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Board of Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name Signature Date

19

Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE HEARING AID DEALER SUPERVISOR

I , Rl Licensed Hearing Aid Dealer (License Number HAD ),

hereby state that | shall be responsible for the supervision and training of :
as atemporary hearing aid dealer.

In addition, I shall be responsible for the documentation of required supervision and training, and the
maintenance of adequate personal contact with the applicant.

Pursuant to Section 4.2 (a) of the “Rules and Regulations Related to the Licensure of Hearing Aid
Dealers and Fitters”; at a minimum this supervison and training shall include:

1) Twenty (20) hours per week of direct supervision for the first thirty (30) days of
training;
2) review of all audiograms, sales and other records for the second thirty (30) days

of training; and

3) periodic review of audiograms, sales and other records for the remainder of the
training period.

I understand that until such time as the above temporary hearing aid dealer has met all permit
requirements pursuant to the rules and regulations, he/she is required to advise any potential
purchasers that he/she is a temporary permit holder.

Certification:

Signature Date

Type or Print Name

Title

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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