
Rhode Island
Advisory Council on Midwifery

Room 103
3 Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908-5097

Instructions and
License Application for

License As A

Certified Midwife
Certified Nurse Midwife
Certified Professional Midwife

***FOR OFFICE USE ONLY***

Receipt #
ID #
Issue Date
License #

Phone: (401) 222-5700 Fax: (401) 222-6683TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555

***FOR OFFICE USE ONLY***
Signature of Board Members

Revised 07/20/2016 jcp
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I am in active military duty or a reservist

MILITARY STATUS ELIGIBILITY
Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedited application:

(Documentation Required)
see next page for instructions
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GENERAL INFORMATION
 Enclosures
The following materials and information should be enclosed within this application packet:

Application Process Overview............................................................................................................3

Instructions for Completing Application..............................................................................................4

Application Materials

Application.............................................................................................................................. 5-8
Application Checklist.............................................................................................................. 9
Interstate Verification Form - Original State of Licensure.......................................................10
Interstate Verification Form - Other State(s) of Licensure......................................................11
RI Uniformed Controlled Substances Act Registration (CSR)...............................................12

Licensure Requirements

· Application fee $80.00

· Recent passport type photograph

· Official transcript directly from educational program which includes the degree granted and date awarded

· Letter of certification directly from the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) or North American
Registry of Midwives (NARM)

NOTE:  All applicants for prescriptive privileges who wish to prescribe controlled substances must complete the
enclosed Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration (CSR) (page 12).  A Federal DEA registration
number will not be issued without proof the practitioner has a Rhode Island issued CSR.  The fee for a CSR is an
additional $200.00 (for a total of $280.00 if submitted at the same time as the midwife application) for two years and
will be renewable every other year with your midwifery license.  The CSR can only be issued to a Rhode Island
practice address.

Applicants for licensure by endorsement may be eligible for a 90 day work permit if the following
criteria are met:

1. The applicant submits a completed application form and the appropriate fee, and

2. The applicant submits a photocopy of a current active out-of-state midwife license.

Military Expedited

If applying for expedited military status you must include one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES),
Letter from Command, Copy of Orders or DD-214 showing honorable discharge.



APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW
     90 Day Temporary License

     Non- Renewable under any circumstances, and are issued once.

     Rules and Regulations/Laws
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     Rhode Island General Laws pertaining to the Practice of Midwifery may be downloaded at the following
     web site:

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/statutes/title23/23-13/23-13-9.HTM

To obtain the Rules and Regulations for your profession visit the A-Z list on the Topics & Programs page at
the following web site.  From the list click on the letter for your profession.

http://www.health.ri.gov/atoz/

The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Health Professionals Regulation, and the Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery
(Board).

Application Process

In addition to the application, you must submit additional information directly to the Board.  All items listed on
the “checklist” (page 9) must be received by this Office for an application to be considered complete.   If you
do not complete the application process and obtain a license within one year, a new application must be
submitted.

Please allow a minimum of 8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed.  If you have malpractice,
criminal or disciplinary history, in Rhode Island or another state, it can take an additional 2 or 3 months for all
pertinent documentation to be received and a decision to be made regarding issuance of your license.

Licenses will be issued within 7-10 working days following the approval of the license.  Wallet-sized license
cards are mailed within 3 weeks from the date of issuance, and are mailed to the address furnished on the
application. You are responsible for notifying the Board office, in writing, if your address changes in the interim.
Visit the following website to obtain a change of address form.

http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/changeofaddress/professions.pdf

Once completed, the application will be reviewed by the Board.  Be advised, you may be required to appear 
for an interview.  NOTE:  You may not practice in Rhode Island until you have received a license number.

Please continue to review the remaining portions of this application packet for instructions and other materials
necessary to complete the application.  If you have any questions about this application process, or would like
to check on the status of your application, please contact the board staff at (401) 222-5700.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE BOARD APPLICATION

Read the following instructions and those throughout the application packet carefully before completing the
application.  Only complete applications with the appropriate fee will be accepted. Failure to submit all
required information and appropriate documentation may result in processing delays.

General Instructions
1. Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.

2. Type your information or print in blue or black ball-point pen.  HEALTH staff will not make assumptions about
illegible information.

3. Provide a response to each section or question; otherwise mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.
4. We suggest that you make a copy of your completed application before submitting it to HEALTH.
5. It is your responsibility to check on the status of your application.

Completing your Application
1. Complete the application pages (5-8). You must respond to all components of the application as instructed.

If you attach separate pages in continuation of the Board application, such pages MUST clearly indicate the
section for which such information is being reported.

2. Make a check or money order (in U.S. Funds only) for the application fee payable to General Treasurer,
State of Rhode Island and staple it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application.
This application fee is NONREFUNDABLE.

3. Complete all application materials as instructed and arrange them in the order listed on the application
checklist (page 9).  Do not submit the application without all applicable information, documentation and
fee(s).  Mail these components of the application to:

 Rhode Island Department of Health 
Advisory Council on Midwifery 

Room 103, 3 Capitol Hill Providence, 
RI 02908-5097

In addition to the materials you mail to HEALTH, the following must be either mailed or requested from other
sources.

1. Official transcript from the school of midwifery must be submitted by the college/school/university, directly to
the Board, at the address listed above.  Fascimiles will not be accepted.  This transcript includes the date of
completion, graduation, and degree.

2. Interstate Verification Forms.  The original state of licensure must be sent the form on Page 10, and all other
licensing authorities in which you are/were licensed must be sent the form on Page 11 (which may be copied
as needed).  Be sure to sign and complete the identifying information on each form.  HEALTH must receive
these verifications directly from the licensing authority.



State of Rhode Island
Advisory Council on Midwifery

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms.  Type or block print only.  Do not use felt-tip pens.
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1. Name(s)

Maiden, if applicable

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III)

Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from  above (First, Middle, Last).

2. Social Security
Number

3. Gender

4. Date of Birth

FemaleMale

U.S. Social Security Number

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., Dr., etc.)

Surname, (Last Name)

 Middle Name

First Name

Month Day Year

5. Home
Address 1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, If NOT U.S.

State

This is the name that
will be printed on your
License/Permit/
Certificate and
reported to those who
inquire about your
License/ Permit/
Certificate. Do not use
nicknames, etc.

Zip Code

1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Name of Business/Work Location

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, If NOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S.

     1   9

It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

State Zip Code

Postal Code, If NOT U.S.

Business FaxExtensionBusiness Phone

Home Phone Home Fax

Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com)

6. Business
Address
(ONLY if it is
RELATED to
your license.)

It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

This address will
appear on the
Department of
Health web site.

 “Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General  Laws,
as amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and
paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand
that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the
Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State.”



7. Preferred
Mailing

 Address
Please check ONE

Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address

Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address

8. Qualifying
Education

Name of School

Type of School (University, College, Trade/Technical School etc.)

Degree Received (Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science, Diploma, etc. )

Major

Please list the name
and information about
the school that you
attended which led to
your advanced
practice license.

Specialty/Type

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >
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11. Midwifery
Licensure

List all states or
countries in which
you are now, or
ever have been
licensed to practice
as a midwife,or any
other profession.

State/Country: State/Country:

Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

Active Inactive

DOCUMENTATION: Send Interstate Verification Forms to each entity. (See pages 10 and 11)

Active

Active

Inactive Active InactiveActive

Inactive Active InactiveActive

Date Graduated:
Day YearMonth

10. Other State
License(s)
Please answer the
question and list
state(s), if applicable

Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state?

If the answer to this question is “yes”, list the original state of licensure, license
number, and, if applicable, enter all other state abbreviation(s) of licenses in
Question 11 (below):

 Yes          No

Original Licensure

License NumberState

9. Certification
Please provide your
Midwife Certification
Information here.

Organization Granting Certification ______________________________________

Midwifery Certification Number __________________________________
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Respond to the
question at the top
of the section, then
list any criminal
conviction(s) in the
space provided.

If necessary, you
may continue on a
separate 8½ x 11
sheet of paper.

12. Criminal
 Convictions

Month Year

Abbreviation of State and Conviction1  (e.g. CA - Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):

 Yes No

13. Disciplinary
Questions
Check either Yes or
No for each
question.

NOTE:  If you
answer “Yes” to
any question, you
are required to
furnish complete
details, including
date, place, reason
and disposition of
the matter.

 Yes No

1. Are there any charges or investigations pending, in any state, against you?

2. Have your staff privileges at any hospital, nursing home, or other health care
facility or health care provider or HMO ever been reduced, revoked, or sus-
pended or have you voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges from any
such unit or facility while under investigation in any state?

3. Have you ever had any disciplinary action(s) taken, or is any pending against
your license to practice nursing, or any other licenses, registrations or
certifications that you hold; or are any complaints pending in any state?

Note:  If you answered “yes” to any of these questions you must explain below or, if needed, on a separate sheet of paper.

 Yes No

 Yes No

Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered
a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or
are any formal charges pending?

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >



I, ____________________________________, being first duly sworn, depose and say that I am the
person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.

I hereby authorize all hospital(s), institution(s) or organizations(s), my references, personal physicians,
employers (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or
foreign) to release to the Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery any information which is material to my
application for licensure.

I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without
reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by
me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that
such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as nurse in the
State of Rhode Island.

I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode
Island Advisory Council on Midwifery of any change in the answers to these questions after this application
and this affidavit is signed.

_____________________________________ _________________________________
Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

_________________________________ _________________________________
Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary

________________________ __________________________
Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date  (MM/DD/YY)

14. Affidavit of
Applicant
Complete this section
and sign in the
presence of a notary
public.

Make sure that  you
and the notary public
have completed all
components
accurately and
completely.

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this _____________ day of

___________________, 20_______,  by ___________________________________,

 who is personally known to me or has produced  ____________________________

as documentation and did / did not take an oath.

15. Recent
Photograph
Securely tape or
glue in this square a
current 2" x 2"
photograph of
yourself (alone).

Photographs must be
recent, passport type
photo, clear, front
view, full face
without a hat or dark
glasses.

Full length photos will
not be accepted.

Affix Photo Here

Applicant: Print your complete last name >

Write your name on the back of the photograph, and provide the date that the photograph was taken.
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Notary Seal

Date of Photograph



Please review the following checklist to ensure that all the components of the application process have been satisfied.  Some
items may not apply.

Board Application

I have read and understand the “Instructions for Completing the Application”.

I have completed the Rhode Island Board application as instructed (pages 5-8).

I have attached the cover page of the application.

I have completed Section 14, “Affidavit of Applicant” (page 8), and had the form notarized by a notary public.

I have attached a photograph to Section 15, “Recent Photograph” (page 8) as instructed.  I have verified that it
meets  the photograph requirements as stated in the application.

I have attached a photocopy of an active, out-of-state advanced practice license.

I have a check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the “RI General Treasurer” in the
amount of $80.00 (or $280.00 with CSR) and attached it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the
application.

I have arranged my Board Application materials in the following order.

1. Fee (attached as instructed).

2. Board Application (including cover page) (pages 5-8)

3. Supporting documentation as required.  [Note: Pages containing additional information in continuation of the
Board application] MUST indicate the section for which the information is being reported.]

I have mailed the above application materials directly to the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing
Education.

Required Forms

I have completed and mailed the following forms as instructed.

1. Interstate Verification Form - Original State of Licensure

2. Interstate Verification Form - to all other states of licensure

Other Documents

I have requested a school transcript as instructed.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST
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I have applied for the RI Uniformed Controlled Substances Act Registration (CSR), completed the form (page 12)
and enclosed an additional $200.00 (for a total of $280.00).



If you answer “Yes” to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g.,
Board order, complaint, etc.).

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery 
Room 103, Three Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

(401) 222-5700

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - ORIGINAL STATE OF LICENSURE
I am applying for a license to practice as a midwife in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery  requires that the
following form be completed by the jurisdiction in which I obtained a license. This constitutes your authority to release all information in your files,
favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name

Previous Names Used

Signature Date

License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MIDWIFERY BOARD
License Status:

Active      Inactive  Lapsed
Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:

Questions:

1. Has this midwife ever been investigated by your Board? Yes No

2. Has this midwife incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? Yes No

3. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed Yes No
on probation?

4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? Yes No

Substitute forms are not acceptable - This form may be duplicated as needed.

Please Affix
Board Seal Here

Certification:

______________________________________________ ___________________
Signature   Date

__________________________________________________________________________
Type or Print Name

__________________________________________________________________________
Title

__________________________________________________________________________
Full Name of Licensing Board

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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Social Security Number           Date of Birth



If you answer “Yes” to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g.,
Board order, complaint, etc.).

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery 
Room 103, Three Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

(401) 222-5700

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATES OF LICENSURE
I am applying for a license to practice as a midwife in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery  requires that the
following form be completed by the jurisdiction in which I obtained a license. This constitutes your authority to release all information in your files,
favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Advisory Council on Midwifery at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name

Previous Names Used

Signature Date

License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MIDWIFERY BOARD
License Status:

Active      Inactive  Lapsed
Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:

Questions:

1. Has this midwife ever been investigated by your Board? Yes No

2. Has this midwife incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? Yes No

3. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed Yes No
on probation?

4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? Yes No

Substitute forms are not acceptable - This form may be duplicated as needed.

Please Affix
Board Seal Here

Certification:

______________________________________________ ___________________
Signature   Date

__________________________________________________________________________
Type or Print Name

__________________________________________________________________________
Title

__________________________________________________________________________
Full Name of Licensing Board

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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Social Security Number           Date of Birth



RHODE ISLAND UNIFORM CONTROLLED

SUBSTANCES ACT REGISTRATION (CSR)

NEW APPLICATION

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

CHANGE OF LOCATION

FULL NAME

DATE

BUSINESS ADDRESS

TELEPHONE NUMBER

A. Has the applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a violation of any state or federal law relating
to manufacturing, distributing, possessing, prescribing, administering or dispensing of drugs presently defined as
controlled substances under Chapter 21-28, General Laws of Rhode Island?

B. Has the registration application or registration of the applicant, corporation, firm, partner, or officer of the applicant been
surrendered, revoked, suspended or denied under any law of the United States or of any state relating to drugs presently
defined as controlled substances under Chapter 21-28 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, or is such action pending?

 IF “A” OR “B” IS ANSWERED IN THE AFFIRMATIVE, ATTACH LETTER SETTING FORTH CIRCUMSTANCES

CURRENT STATE LICENSE OR CERTIFICATION NUMBER

Yes No

Yes No

** FOR OFFICE USE ONLY **

RECEIPT #

ID#

ISSUE DATE

LICENSE #

1) PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN UPPERCASE
2) DO NOT SEND CASH - MAIL CHECK OR MONEY ORDER, PAYABLE TO: RI GENERAL TREASURER
3) PRACTITIONER FEE - $200.00 
4) RETURN ENTIRE APPLICATION TO: RI BOARD OF PHARMACY

ROOM 205
3 CAPITOL HILL
PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5097

REGISTRANT NAME AND BUSINESS LOCATION ONLY:

E-MAIL ADDRESS - (THIS WILL BE USED FOR REGISTRATION TO THE RHODE ISLAND PRESCRIPTION MONITORING PROGRAM)

Complete the following information to apply for a registration to prescribe, dispense, store or ship controlled substances in or into
the State of Rhode Island.  A CSR is not required if there will be no controlled substances prescriptions prescribed, dispensed,
stored or shipped in or into this state.  The CSR is renewed at the same time as the professional or facility license is renewed.
NOTE:  Please read important information on the next page.

REGISTRATION CLASSIFICATION:
BUSINESS ACTIVITY (CHECK ONE ONLY):

A. (   )  COMMUNITY PHARMACY B. (   )  PRACTITIONER C. (   ) MANUFACTURER/DISTRIBUTOR D. (   ) RESEARCHER

E. (   )  MEDICAL INSTITUTION/CLINIC F. (   )  TEACHING INSTITUTION G. (   ) NTP PROGRAM H. (   ) ANALYTICAL LAB

DRUG SCHEDULE - Check all that apply  (Non-practitioners only)

1. (   )  SCHEDULE I
Attach Protocol

2. (   )  SCHEDULE II 3. (   )  SCHEDULE III 4. (   )  SCHEDULE IV 5. (   )  SCHEDULE V

DRUG ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATION (DEA) REGISTRATION
Provide DEA number if one has been issued, or check “pending” if an application is being made for the DEA Registration.  A copy of
the DEA Registration must be provided to the BOARD within 60 days of its issuance by the DEA.

DEA NUMBER
___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___ ____ PENDING

ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING:

SIGNATURE OR APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED INDIVIDUAL OFFICIAL TITLE
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PLEASE KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS:

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Licensed drug facilities and licensed practitioners with prescriptive privileges cannot dispense, possess, store or
ship controlled substances in or into the State of Rhode Island without a valid drug facility or professional

license, Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration (CSR), and a federal Drug Enforcement Administration
(DEA) Registration.  Practitioners may only dispense, possess, and store controlled substances within their

particular “scope of practice”. “Controlled Substances”, for purposes of this application, means a prescription
drug in Schedules II through V, pursuant to the Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act, and 21 CFR

1300 of the Federal Code of Regulations.  Schedule I drugs are used by researchers, and require the submission
of a protocol.

Without a Rhode Island CSR and federal DEA Registration, licensed drug facilities and practitioners with prescriptive
privileges may dispense or possess non=controlled prescription medications under its facility or professional license.  A
CSR will not be granted to an applicant whose BOARD licensure application is “pending” in this state.

A Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration must be obtained prior to applying for the DEA Registration.  Federal
regulations require that applicants comply with individual state requirements prior to issuance of a DEA Registration.  Once
the CSR is issued, applicants must apply to the US Drug Enforcement Administration for a federal registration using that
agency’s DEA Form 224 (New application for Retail Pharmacy, Hospital/Clinic, Practitioner, Teaching Institution, or Mid-
Level Practitioner).  Applicants may apply online for the DEA Registration at the following web site:

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drugreg/reg_apps/index.html

or by contacting the Drug Enforcement Administration at the following location:

Registration Unit
US Drug Enforcement Administration 

JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street
Boston, MA 02203-0131

1-888-272-5174

PLEASE NOTE:  Prescriptions in Schedules III, IV, and V cannot be written for more than one hundred (100) dosage units.
A “dosage unit” is defined as a single capsule, tablet or suppository, or not more than one (1) teaspoon or an oral liquid.
Prescriptions in Schedule II may be written for up to a 30-day supply, with a maximum of two hundred fifty (250) dosage
units, as determined by the prescriber’s directions for us of the medication.

The Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act can be accessed at the following website:

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Title21/21-28/index.htm

*** Rhode Island Prescription Monitoring Program - (RIPMP) ***

The RIPMP is a database that allows you to view patient’s prescription history prior to your writing a prescription for them.

Once your RI Controlled Substances Registration is issued we will email a user id and temporary password to the email
address that you provided on the CSR form. RI Law requires that all prescribers of controlled substances be registered with
the RIPMP.  It is important to make sure your email address is current with the Department.

It is the Department’s expectation that you utilize this valuable tool that not only protects you as a prescriber but more
importantly protects your patients.

Please visit our website for more information about the program and expectations.

http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/prescriptionmonitoring/
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 Call the Drug Enforcement Administration to check on the status of a pending DEA Registration.  A copy of the 
DEA Registration must be provided to the BOARD within 60 days of its issuance by the DEA.
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