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GENERAL INFORMATION

Enclosures

The following information is enclosed:

J Application Process Overview 3
J Instructions for Completing the Application 4
. Application Checklists 4
By Examination (RI - NA Training Program) 4
By Examination (Nursing Students) 5
By RN or LPN License 5
By Endorsement (100 Training Program Hours) 5
By Endorsement (3 Months Full-Time Employment) 5
. Application Form 6
. Interstate Verification Form 10
. Verification of Employment Form 11

Military Expedited

If applying for expedited military status you must include one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES),
Letter from Command, Copy of Orders or DD-214 showing honorable discharge.

Statute

Chapter 23-17.9 entitled “Registration of Nursing Assistants” can be downloaded at the following website:

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/statutes/title23/23-17.9/index.htm

Rules and Reqgulations

To obtain the Rules and Regulations for your profession, visit the following web site. From the list, click on your
profession.

http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses/

Competency Examination

The Training Program Coordinator will schedule your test after you successfully complete the Nursing Assistant
training program.

You will be given three opportunities to successfully complete the Nursing Assistant examinations. If you
fail to give prior notice and do not arrive to take a scheduled test, it will count as a failed attempt. You may be
employed as a trainee for 120 days. You must complete the testing process within one (1) year from the date you
began the training program or you will be required to complete a new application and pay all fees.

Initial License
Once you have passed your examinations, you will be notified. Your license may expire within a few months up to

two years after your examination. You may need to renew your license prior to the normal two-year expiration
period. Expiration dates are June 30th.

Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Application - Page 2



GENERAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)

Renewals

A renewal notice will be mailed to you approximately sixty (60) days prior to your license expiration date. You
must obtain the signature of an official in a licensed Rhode Island health care facility ONLY (i.e. nursing
home) where you were employed as a Nursing Assistant within the 24 months prior to renewal. If you
document that you were working in a facility other than a licensed Rhode Island health care facility,
you will not be eligible for renewal. YOUR LICENSE MUST BE ACTIVE DURING ANY EMPLOYMENT
PERIOD VERIFIED BY YOUR EMPLOYER.

APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Health Professions Regulation, 3 Capitol Hill, Room 105, Providence, Rl 02908.

Application Process

You must submit the application and additional information. All items listed on the following applicable checklist
must be submitted for an application to be considered complete. APPLICATIONS ARE ONLY VALID FOR A
ONE (1) YEAR PERIOD.

Please allow a minimum of 8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed.

If you previously had a license as a Nursing Assistant in Rhode Island, there are two ways to reinstate your
license:

1. You must retrain and retest with a Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Training Program and
follow the application instructions by Examination.

Or

2. You are currently licensed in another state as a Nursing Assistant and must follow the
application instructions by Endorsement.

You are responsible for notifying HEALTH, in writing, when your address changes.

Once completed, the application will be reviewed and you will be contacted in writing. NOTE: You may not prac-
tice as a Nursing Assistant in Rhode Island until you have received your license.

To obtain your licensure status and license number, please refer to the HEALTH Licensee Lookup website:
https://healthri.mylicense.com/Verification/

If you have any questions about the application process, please contact this office at (401) 222-5888.

120 Day Temporary Permit

Applicants for Licensure by Examinaton will be given a temporary permit for 120 days. No extensions will be
granted.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Read the following instructions carefully before you complete the application. Only completed applications
will be accepted. Failure to submit all required information, appropriate documentation and required fee will
result in processing delays.

General Instructions

1.

SR R

Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.
Type your information or print in blue or black ball-point pen. lllegible information will not be accepted.

Provide a response to each section or question; otherwise, mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.
Make a copy of your completed application before you submit it to HEALTH.
It is your responsibility to check on the status of your application.

Completing your Application

1.

Complete the application. You must respond to all sections of the application as instructed. If you attach
separate pages as a continuation of the application, please clearly indicate the section for which such infor-
mation is being reported.

Make a check or money order payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island and staple it to the
upper left-hand corner of the first page of the application. The application fee is NON-REFUNDABLE.

Do not submit the application without all applicable information, documentation and fee. Mail the application
to:

Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Room 103 - NA Board
Providence, Rl 02908-5097

APPLICATION CHECKLISTS

Please review the following checklists, choose which one applies to you, and include all of the required information to
complete your Nursing Assistant application.

All applicants must include the following:

By Examination (If you are in alicensed Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Training Program)

1. A $35.00 non-refundable fee made payable to RI General Treasurer;

2. Completion of Department licensed Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Training Program;

3. A passport-type 2 x 3 inch photograph, taken within 1 year,;

4. Original BCI check from the RI Attorney General’s Office only, dated within 4 months of the
application date, with stamp and seal; If positive BCI, a detailed explanation is required.

5. Completed and notarized application; and

6. Completion of written and practical Nursing Assistant examinations, within 1 year from the date

you began the training program (given 3 opportunities to complete);
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APPLICATION CHECKLISTS CONTINUED

By Examination- Nursing Students (If you are a nursing student in a nursing program and completed 2

POnPE

oo

clinical nursing program courses)

A $35.00 non-refundable fee made payable to Rl General Treasurer;

Official transcript or signature of Dean of the School of Nursing;

A passport-type 2 x 3 inch photograph, taken within 1 year,;

Original BCI check from the RI Attorney General's Office only, dated within 4 months of the
application date, with stamp and seal; If positive BCI, a detailed explanation is required.
Completed and notarized application; and

Completion of written and practical Nursing Assistant examinations, within 1 year from the date
you began the training program (given 3 opportunities to complete);

By RN or LPN License (If you are licensed as a RN or LPN in good standing)

PwnbhPE

o

A $35.00 non-refundable fee made payable to RI General Treasurer;

Verification of current RN or LPN license;

A passport-type 2 x 3 inch photograph, taken within 1 year;

Original BCI check from the RI Attorney General’s Office only, dated within 4 months of the
application date, with stamp and seal; If positive BCI, a detailed explanation is required.
Completed and notarized application; and

By Endorsement (If you have an Active license in good standing as a Nursing Assistant in another

A

oA

state and want to be licensed in RI)

A $35.00 non-refundable fee made payable to Rl General Treasurer;
A passport-type 2 x 3 inch photograph, taken within 1 year;
Original BCI check from the RI Attorney General's Office only, dated within 4 months of the
application date, with stamp and seal; If positive BCI, a detailed explanation is required.
Completed and notarized application;
Evidence of a current license as a Nursing Assistant in another state
(Completed Interstate Verification Form - Page 10)
You must complete the top section of the form and send the form to the other state
board; and
Evidence of Nursing Assistant Training Program Hours OR Evidence of Employment as a
Nursing Assistant

Evidence of 100 Training Program Hours
A copy of your Nursing Assistant Training Program Certificate or letter on company letterhead,
which states both the number of written training hours AND the number of skills training hours.

OR

Evidence of 3 Months Employment
If your Nursing Assistant Training Program was less than 100 hours, you must provide an
employer’s statement that you have at least 3 months of full-time work experience within the last
year as a Nursing Assistant

(Completed Employment Verification Form - Page 11)

You must complete the top section of the form and send the form to your employer
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State of Rhode Island
Application for License as a Nursing Assistant

1. Name(s)

This is the name that
will appear on the
HEALTH website. Do
not use nicknames,
etc.

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.)

First Name

Middle Name

Surname, (Last Name)

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., I, 1)

Maiden, if applicable

Name(s) under which originally licensed in this or another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last).

2. Social Security
Number

“Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General

Laws,

as amended, | attest that | have filed all applicable tax returns and

U.S. Social Security Number

paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and | understand

that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the
Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State.”

3. Gender

|:| Male |:| Female

4, Date of Birth

Month Day Year

5. Home
Address
It is your responsibility
to notify HEALTH of all
address changes.

1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City

Country, fNOTU.S.

State Zip Code

Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Home Phone Home Fax
Email Address
6. Business

Add res§ L Name of Business/Work Location

(ONLY if it is

RELATED to ) !

. 1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

your license.)

It is your responsibility Second Line Address (Number and Street)

to notify HEALTH of all

address changes.
City State Zin Code

This address will
appear on the
Health website.

Country, f NOTU.S.

Business Phone Extension

Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Business Fax
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Applicant: Print your complete last name

7. Preferred
Mailing
Address
Please check ONE

|:| Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address.

|:| Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address.

8A.Rhode Island
Nursing Assistant
Training Program
Information

EXAMINATION
APPLICATIONS
ONLY

Please list the name
and information about
the training that you
participated in that
qualifies you for

this license.

Signature
Required %

Name of School/Training Program

Address (Number and Street)

City State Zip Code

License Number of
School/Training Program:

Date Class Began Date Graduated
Month Day Year Month Day Year

Test Site:

Employment Date: Test Date:
(If Applicable) Month Day Year Month Day Year

EXAMINATION APPLICANTS - Provide Signature of Training Program Coordinator.

Signature Title Date

Print or Type Name Phone

8B.Nursing
Student
Information

STOP!
FOR
NURSING STUDENT
APPLICATIONS
ONLY

Please list the name
and information about
the training that you
participated in that

Type of School (University, College, Trade/Technical School etc.)

Name of School/Training Program

Date of Completion of Qualifying Clinical Training:
Month Day Year

NURSING STUDENT APPLICANTS - Provide Signature (and Title) of School of Nursing Dean (or Designee).

My signature below indicates and attests to the fact that the Nursing Student who has made this application to the Nursing
Assistant Advisory Board has completed a minimum of two (2) clinical courses.

qualifies you for Signature Title Date
this license.
Signature -
Signatuce (11 (T 1J-[1T1 1]
hmequired Print or Type Name Phone
You are required to successfully complete a written and practical examination to become licensed as a Nursing Assistant.
Please review the Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Candidate Handbook, dated July 2011.
Rhode Island
Nursing Assistant , .
Testin;’ PLEASE CALL CCRI's Lincoln Campus at (401) 333-7077 to schedule your
Information examination.
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Jackie.Paquin
Text Box
Applicant:  Print your complete last name >


Applicant: Print your complete last name

9. Original and Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? |:|Yes |:| No
Other State
License If you answered “yes”, list the license number(s) of the original state (and any
Information other states) of licensure below:
Original Licensure Other State Licensure
State License Number State License Number
Other State Licensure Other State Licensure
State License Number State License Number

Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered

a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or

are any formal charges pending? If you answer yes and do not provide a |:| Yes I:l No
detailed explanation, your application will not be processed.

10. Criminal
Convictions

If needed, you may
continue on a

separate sheet of Abbreviation of State and Conviction* (e.g. CA - lllegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):
paper.
Month Year
11. Disciplinary |1- Hasany Health Professionallicense, certificate, registration, or permit you Ves No
Questions hold or have held, been disciplined or are formal charges pending?
Check either Yes or . . . i i .
No for each 2. Have you ever been denied a license, certificate, registration or permitin any Yes No

question. state?

Note: If you answer “Yes”, you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason and disposition of
% the matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, you may continue on a separate sheet of paper.
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Jackie.Paquin
Text Box
Applicant:  Print your complete last name >


12. Affidavit of

Applicant
. ) I, , being first duly sworn, depose and say that | am the
Complete this section . . . . .
and sign in the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.
presence of a notary
public. | have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without

reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by
me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that
such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as a Nursing
Assistant in the State of Rhode Island.

| understand that this is a continuing application and that | have an affirmative duty to inform HEALTH of any
change in the answers to these questions after this application and this affidavit is signed.

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

The foregoing application was acknowledged before me this day of

, 20 , by ,

who is personally known to me or has produced

as documentation and did take an oath.

Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary
Notary Seal

Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date (MM/DD/YY)

13. Recent
Photograph

Securely tape or NO

glue a passport type

2'x 3" photograph. PHOTOCOPIES

ATTACH WITH
CLEAR TAPE
ONLY

% Provide the date that the photograph was taken.

Date of Photograph
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Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Room 103
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
(401) 222-5888

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S) (One form for each state)

| am applying for reinstatement to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Department of Health requires that
this form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which | hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your
files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health at the above address.

APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND THEN SEND FORM TO THE OTHER STATE BOARD

Print/Type Full Name ' Signature Date
Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth
License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE NURSING ASSISTANT BOARD

Directions for State Board: Please complete and return this form to the address above. Please verify requirements met in your state.
If you answer “yes” to any of the questions, please explain on a separate sheet of paper and attach it to this form.

Licensed by Examination? If not by examination, how was license obtained?
[] Yes [] No Endorsement (State) Other (Explain)

Applicant has completed and passed the National Certification Exam: | License Status: Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:
[] Yes [] No Score Level of Exam: [] Active [] Inactive [] Lapsed

Questions:
1. Has this applicant met all relevant state and federal requirements under OBRA ‘87 and ‘89 for Nursing Assistant [] Yes ] No
Registration in the state of ?

2. Please indicate method and state approved training program in the state of

Date of Completion Number of hours
3. Competency Evaluation in state of Date of Completion OR Reciprocity/Endorsement

Registration in state of Other method (please explain):

4. Registration Number Issued Expiration

5. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board? []Yes ] No
6. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? ] Yes [J No
7. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed [ Yes [J No

on probation?
8. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? [JYes ] No

Certification:

Signature Date

Type or Print Name

Please Affix
Board Seal Here

Title

Full Name of Licensing Board

Please return directly to the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Application - Page 10




Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Room 103
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
(401) 222-5888

NURSING ASSISTANT VERIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT FORM

I am applying for alicense to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Department of Health requires that applicants
for Rhode Island licensure must have this form verified and signed by their Employer/Employing Agency. This constitutes authority for you to release all
information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health at the above address.

APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND THEN SEND FORM TO EMPLOYER

Print/Type Full Name Signature Date
Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth
License Number Date Issued

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE
EMPLOYER/EMPLOYING AGENCY

The individual named above has made application to the Rhode Island Department of Health to become a Nursing Assistant.

This is to certify that has
completed three (3) months of full-time work experience as a Nursing Assistant.

Name of Employer/Employing Agency:

Address::

City, State, Zip Code:

Dates of Employment: From To
month/day/year month/day/year

Additional Comments:

Certification:

Signature of Administrator/DNS Date

Type or Print Name Title

Acknowledgement:

By signing this form,l hereby affirm that my comments and answers to the above questions are true and complete to the best of my knowlege

Please return directly to the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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