
   

Rhode Island 
Department of Health 

Room 306 
3 Capitol Hill 

Providence, RI 02908-5097 
 

Instructions and Application For 
License As A 

 

 
☐ Tattoo Artist 

☐ Apprentice 
 

☐ Body Piercing Technician 
☐ Apprentice 

 
 

Note: One application is required for each type of license being sought 
 

Applicant - Print Name (First/MI/Last) 
 

Phone: (401) 222-2566 TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555 
 
 
 

Revised 08/09/2024  

 
Tattoo/Body Piercing Checklist 

 
App. & Fee 
Date:  Check  
Birth Certificate 
Photo 
SSN 
Lic. Verification from other States 
BCI 
Examination 
CPR 
Bloodborne Pathogens 

***FOR OFFICE USE ONLY*** ***FOR OFFICE USE ONLY*** 
Application Approved: 
License Number: 
Issue Date: 

 
Program Supervisor Initials: 

 
ID#: 

Receipt #: 
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LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 
Please be advised that the application forms will not be returned to you. Once submitted, these forms become a part of the application of 
record and are considered public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and may be made available to the public, unless otherwise 
prohibited by State or Federal Law. 

☐Completed, Notarized Application with Cover Page - Applications are valid for one (1) year from the day they are received
at RIDOH. If you are not licensed within the year, you must submit a new application.

☐Check or money order (preferred) made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the RI General Treasurer in the amount of $90.00
and attached to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application. THIS APPLICATION FEE IS
NONREFUNDABLE. There is no fee for apprenticeship registration.

☐A passport-type 2 x 3 inch photograph, taken within one (1) year. Please affix the photo to page 5 and date below in the field
provided.

☐Birth Certificate, or if born outside the United States, proof of citizenship, lawful alien status or legal entry. 

☐Copies of active CPR/First Aid and Bloodborne Pathogen Certificates.

☐Original BCI (Background Check) with stamp and seal directly from the RI Attorney General’s Office or Local Police
Department. Applicants are responsible for all costs incurred in this process.

☐If you have ever been licensed in another state, license verification(s) must be sent directly from the state(s) in which you
hold or have held a license. (Interstate Verification Form included in this application can be used for that purpose.)

☐ One of the following: (First time applicants only – not required for license reinstatement)

 For apprenticeship registration: Signed letter from a RI licensed Tattoo Artist or Body Piercer stating you will be
apprenticing under their supervision

 For applicants who have completed an apprenticeship: Signed letter from a licensed Tattoo Artist or Body Piercer
stating the applicant has satisfactorily completed the RI apprenticeship requirements and documentation of such
training. (Tattoo apprenticeships must meet the requirements at §15.4.3 216-RICR-40-10-15.)

 For applicants previously licensed in another State or Country: Documentation equivalent to 18 months of tattoo
apprenticeship or appropriate duration of body piercing training

 For individuals providing permanent cosmetics ONLY who do not have any of the above credentials: Certificate of
completion from an approved course. (Courses must be completed in person with hands on training.)

IMPORTANT: Upon receipt of your completed application, a RI Dept of Health employee 
will contact you via email to schedule the RI Tattoo Artist or Body Piercing License Exam 
(apprentices not included).  

Licensure Information 

Please visit the RIDOH website at http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses to Verify your license, download Rules 
and Regulations/Laws for your profession, download change of address forms, other licensing forms or obtain 
our contact information. RIDOH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the 
expense of others. 

License Certificates 

If you wish to receive a license certificate, suitable for framing, please check the box below and attach a separate check in the 
amount of $30.00 made payable to RI General Treasurer. 

I would like to receive a license certificate. I have enclosed a separate check in the amount of $30.00 

https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/Part/216-40-10-15
http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses
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Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Name of Business/Work Location 

 
1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.) 

 
 

Second Line Address (Number and Street) 

   
City State Zip Code 

 
Country, If NOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S. 

   
Business Phone Extension Business Fax 

State of Rhode Island 
Tattoo Artist/Body Piercing 

Application for License as a Tattoo Artist/Body Piercer 

1. Name(s) 
This is the name that 
will be printed on your 
License/Permit/Certific
ate and reported to 
those who inquire 
about your License/ 
Permit/Certificate. Do 
not use nicknames, etc. 
 
You must supply your legal 
name which matches all 
your supporting 
documentation. 

  
 

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.) 
 

First Name 
 

Middle Name 
 
 

Surname, (Last Name) 
  

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III) 
 

Maiden, if applicable 
Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last). 

2. Social Security 
Number 

“Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General Laws, as 
amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and paid all 

U.S. Social Security Number taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand that my Social 
Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the Division of Taxation to 
verify that no taxes are owed to the State.” 

3. Gender 
 

Male Female 

4. Date and Place 
of Birth 

1  9 
Month Day Year 

 
 

City and State; OR Province and Country, etc., if NOT U.S. 

5. Home 
Address 
It is your responsibility 
to notify the Department 
of Health of all address 
changes. 

  

1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.) 
 
 

Second Line Address (Number and Street) 
 
 
 

City State Zip Code 
 
 

Country, If NOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S. 
 
 

Home Phone Home Fax 
 
 

Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com) 

6. Business 
Address 
(ONLY if it is 
RELATED to 
your license.) 

It is your responsibility to 
notify the Department of 
Health of all address 
changes. 
If you are an apprentice, 
provide the name of the 
licensed parlor you will be 
working in 
This address will 
appear on the 
Department of Health 
website. 
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Applicant: Print your complete last name > 

7. Preferred 
Mailing 
Address 
Please check ONE 

 
     Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address 
 
     Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address

8. Training 
 

Please describe the 
type of training & 
experience you 
have completed that 
qualifies you for this 
license.  
If you are an apprentice 
provide the contact 
information of your 
mentor.  
If you are a permanent 
makeup artist, please 
provide copies of your 
certificates. 

 
9. Other State 

License(s) 
Please answer the 
question and list 
state(s), if applicable

 
Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? 

 
 
If the answer to this question is “yes”, enter all other state licenses in Question 10 (below): 

 
Yes               No

10. Licensure 
 

State/Country: State/Country: 

List all states or 
countries in which 
you are now, or ever 
have been licensed 
to practice your 
profession. 

  
 
 
 
 
 

 
  

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

11. Criminal 
Convictions 

 
 

 

 
Respond to the 
question at the top 
of the section, then 
list any criminal 
conviction(s) in the 
space provided. 

 
If necessary, you 
may continue on a 
separate 8½ x 11 
sheet of paper. 

 
 

 
Abbreviation of State and Conviction1 (e.g. CA - Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance): 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Month 

  
 

12. Disciplinary 
Questions 
Check either Yes 
or No for each 
question. 

  
 

  

 

  
 
 
 

Note: If you answer “Yes” to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason and 
disposition of the matter. You may use a separate sheet of paper. Any applicant, whose criminal records check reveals a 
conviction for any sexual offense, shall be denied a license. 

  

  

  

 

Active 

Active 

Active 

Active 

Active 

Active Inactive 

Inactive 

Inactive Inactive 

Inactive 

Inactive 

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED for Other State Licenses: 
You must send an “Interstate Verification Form” (see page 6) to each state in which you are, or ever have been, licenses as a 
Tattoo Artist or Body Piercer (make copies as needed). The interstate verification form must be completed for your application 
to be deemed complete. 

Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, 
or entered into a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, 
regulation, or ordinance or are any formal charges pending? 

Yes No 

Month Year 

1. Has any Health Professional license, certificate, registration, 
or permit you hold or have held, been disciplined or are formal 
charges pending? 

2. Have you ever been denied a license, certificate, registration 
or permit in any state? 

Yes 

Yes 

No 

No 
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Applicant: Print your complete last name >  
13. Affidavit of 

Applicant 
Complete this section 
and sign in the 
presence of a notary 
public. 

 
Make sure that you 
and the notary public 
have completed all 
components 
accurately and 
completely. 

 

I,  , being first duly sworn, depose and say that I am the person 
referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. 

 
I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without 
reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by 
me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that 
such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as a 
Tattoo Artist, Tattoo Artist Apprentice, Body Piercer, Body Piercer Apprentice (please circle the type 
of license that you are applying for) in the State of Rhode Island. 

 I understand that my records are protected under the Federal and State Regulations governing Mental Health 
Patient Records and cannot be disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided in the law. I 
understand that my records are protected under the Federal and State Laws and Regulations governing 
Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records, 42 CFR Part 2, and cannot be disclosed without 
my written consent unless otherwise provided in the regulations. 

 
I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode Island 
Department of Health of any change in the answers to these questions after this application and this affidavit 
is signed. 

  
  

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

  
 

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this   day of 
  , 20 , by  , 
 who is personally known to me or has produced   
 as documentation and did / did not take an oath. 

  
 
 

Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary Notary Seal 

  
 

Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date (MM/DD/YY) 

14. Recent 
Photograph 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Affix Photo Here 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Write your name on the back of the photograph, and provide the date that the photograph was taken. 
 
 

 

Date of Photograph 

Securely tape or 
glue in this square a 
current 2” x 2” 
photograph of 
yourself (alone). 

Photographs must be 
recent, passport type 
photo, clear, front 
view, full face without 
a hat or dark glasses. 

Full length photos will 
not be accepted. 
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Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed. 

 
INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSURE 

I am applying for a license to practice as a Tattoo Artist or Body Piercer in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Department of Health requires that 
the following form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which I hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in 
your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health at the above address. 

 
 

  

Print/Type Full Name 
 
 

Previous Names Used 

Signature Date 
 
 

Social Security Number Date of Birth 

 
 

  

License Number Date Issued 
 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE TATTOO/BODY PIERCING BOARD 
Training Completed: Location: Completion Date: 

License Status: 
Active Inactive Lapsed 

 Original Date Issued: Expiration Date: 

 
 

Questions: 

1. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board?   
 

2. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending?   
 

3. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed   
on probation?  

 

4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person?   
 

If you answer “Yes” to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g., Board order, 
complaint, etc.). 

Certification: 
 

  

Signature Date 
 
 

 

Type or Print Name 
Please Affix 

Board Seal Here 
 

 

Title 
 

 

Full Name and State of Licensing Board 
 

Please return directly to the Department of Health at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation. 

 

Rhode Island Department of Health (Tattoo Artists/Body Piercers) 
Room 306, 3 Capitol Hill 

Providence, RI 02908-5097 
(401) 222-2828 

Yes 

Yes 

Yes 

Yes 

No 

No 

No 

No 
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