
Single-use plastic straws can be a source of waste and litter. Under Rhode Island 
law, food service establishments cannot provide a single-use plastic straw to a 
customer unless asked. 

Waiting until a customer asks for a straw can help lower plastic waste, while 
meeting customer needs and preferences. It’s important to remember that people 
with certain medical or physical conditions may need a straw to drink a beverage. 

Single-Use Plastic Straw De�nition
A single-use, disposable tube made mostly from plastic that is used for 
drinking purposes

Frequently Asked Questions
Are plastic straws banned in Rhode Island food service establishments?
Plastic straws are not banned. Food service establishments can no longer provide a plastic straw unless a customer 
asks for one. They are able to provide non-plastic straws without being asked and may provide a plastic straw if a 
customer requests one.

Can a food service establishment have plastic straws available to the public in a dispenser or other 
self-serve display?
Plastic straws can only be provided if a customer asks for one. Plastic straws cannot be available to the public in 
a self-serve dispenser or display. Non-plastic straws can be available in a self-serve dispenser or display.

How do I know if a straw is considered a single-use plastic straw under the law?
Straws that are intended to be used once and disposed of are considered single-use straws. Straws made of plastic 
include plastic derived from either petroleum or a biologically based polymer, such as corn or other plant sources. 
It does not include a straw made from non-plastic materials.

Enforcement
The Rhode Island Department of Health is responsible for enforcing this law and issuing violations. Food service 
establishments will be educated on the law’s requirements and may receive a written notice for the first and 
second violation. After the second violation, the establishment will be fined. 

• First violation: Notice of violation

• Second violation: Notice of violation

• Additional violations: $25 fine for each additional violation (not to exceed $300 annually) 
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What You Need to Know
Plastic Straws in Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection
For more information, call 401-222-2750
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Acceptable Alternatives to Plastic Straws
Straws made from non-plastic materials are not impacted and may be distributed as normal.


