The State Office of Vital Records accepts cash, check, or money order if the request for records is made in person. The Office only accepts check or money order if the request is made by mail (do not send cash). If requesting the certificate from the State Office, make the check or money order payable to "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island." The State Office is not able to accept debit/credit card payments. If obtaining a record from a city or town clerk, payments should be made to the local office.
The fee for a certified copy of a vital record (from state or local registrars) is $20. Additional copies of the same record issued at the same time are $15.00 each. Per Rhode Island General Law, the fee provides for a search of two consecutive calendar years under one name and for issuance of a certified copy of a birth, fetal death, death, marriage, or civil union record.
If the record is not found, you will be charged for the service. However, in most cases, you will receive a certified letter stating that the record was not located. There is an additional $2.00 for each year searched beyond the two-year period.