Vital records are confidential. Only people with a direct and tangible interest in the records can get copies. Copies of your records can only be made for:
Firms, agencies, or individuals requesting information for commercial purposes are not considered to have direct and tangible interest. It is illegal to inspect or disclose information contained in vital records, or to copy or issue a copy of all or part of any vital record except as authorized above. more. Anyone who uses false statements to obtain a vital record may be fined up to $1,000, imprisoned for up to a year, or both. more
Vital Chek issues certified copies of records for births deaths or marriages which occurred in Rhode Island. You may contact them all day any day. Phone (888) 388-1032 orders are also accepted.
Cost: $30 per record. Rush orders an additional $##.
Payment: Payment may be made by debit, credit card or check.
Proof of Identification: Questions will be asked to verify identity. If there is a question of identity followup information will be required to be submitted.
State Center for Vital Records or your local municipal clerk's office.
Cost One Copy - $20. Additional copies (same record, same time) - $15.00 each.Searching - Free for one name and one record for two consecutive years. Two dollars for year additional year. Rush orders - $7 addtional.
Payment:Cash, checks, or money orders are accepted at the State Office. Check or money order made out to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island only. Local offices may vary on what payment they accept.
Turnaround Time It will take one to two weeks to process your request and mail your certified copy to you. Rush requests will be processed within five business days after receipt of request.
Identification You must provide a valid picture identification issued by a governmental organization to prove you are entitled to make the request. Acceptable documents include: driver's license , passport, military identification, certificate of naturalization, alien registration card. If you do not have government-issued picture identification, you may submit two other documents containing the name and current address of the applicant (i.e. utility bill, bank statement, car registration, copy of income tax return, etc.).
Copies of vital records can also be obtained by mail.
Cost: Same as in person.
Payment: Check or money order only. Do not send cash.
Identification readable copy of identification as described for in person applications is required and will not be returned to you. If you submit an application or request without identification, it will not be processed and it will be returned to you.
You may receive a certified copy of a record in the mail without using an application form, but you must provide: